Find Us!

Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship

OPSA Announces

The OSPA Scholarship has given out $40,000 in grants since its inception!


Scholarship Background

The Ohio School Psychologists Association established the scholarship to benefit graduate students who are in the second term of their first year at one of the nine Ohio Graduate Training Programs in School Psychology


The Valorie Wolcott Mendelson Ohio School Psyychologist Association Scholarship was created by the Executive Board in 2006 and the first $1,000 scholarship was awarded in November 2008. In 2012 the scholarship was increased to $2,000 and in 2015 we were able to increase the number of scholarships to two.  Beginning in 2020 the two scholarships have been increased to $3,00 each.

This scholarship is funded through the support of our annual raffle at the Fall Conference in Columbus and generous gifts from OSPA members. In 2011 the OSPA Executive Board renamed the scholarship the Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship in honor of our first chair and the guiding force for this scholarship.

 From humble beginnings we have grown our funds through the greathearted donations of publishers who donate materials that school psychologists use; through the 9 Ohio universities where school psychologists are trained; by regional school psychologist associations who bring creative offerings that reflect their geographic/cultural traditions; from personal donations and from memorials.

The Scholarship Committee is very please to announce that thanks to the general membership and the Past President’s Challenge more than $6,200 was collected for the scholarship.  Thanks to all the members who stepped up  during our Virtual Conference last fall.  Donations are always welcome, scroll down to see how you can donate.  

 The scholarship funds are invested and managed by The Columbus Foundation and now total more than $179,000. 

To date the Scholarship has given out $40,000.


  Please see the list of recipients below

2008 Ryan Taylor Universisty of Toledo
2009 Amber Kokal Kent State University
2010 Autumn LaRich University of Dayton
2011 Morgan Jensen University of Dayton
2012 Diahana Davis Cleveland State
2013 Amy Bruno University of Miami
2014 Estafany Rodriguez Cleveland State
2015 Nicholas DeHoff University of Miami
  Kallie Pettiti Kent State University
2016 Alanna Bebech Youngstown State
  Selena Philson Ohio State University
2017 Chia Hong University of Miami
  Alex Passafiume Ohio State University
2018 Taylor Wohlgamuth University of Dayton
2019 Ashley George University of Miami
  Adam Zegarac Cleveland State
2020 Madeline Gronotte University of Dayton
  Kyanna Johnson

Ohio State University

2021           Caitlyn Hanes         University of Daytion
                   Emily Licata            University of Toledo
Invitation for Giving:

The Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship is a 501(c) (3).  Contributions are always welcome.  Please make check out to:  The Columbus Foundation with a notation that it is for the Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship - 2085. Please mail contributions to:

Alicia Szempruch
Scholarship Manager
The Columbus Foundation
1234 East Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43205-1453
Phone: 614/251-4000 Fax: 614/251-4010

Contributions may also be made on line at Click on Give Now.  Click on Search and Give by a Nonprofit  Then Type in Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship -2085. Thank you for considering a tax deductible donation to support the development of school psychologists in Ohio..

The Valorie Wolcott Mendelson OSPA Scholarship Award Recipients:

Thank you for all you have done to enhance the profession of School Psychology in the state of Ohio!  If you have any questions or concerns please contact: 

Juliette Madigan, Scholarship Chair