Find Us!

2017 R.A. Horn Honorary Life Membership – Juliette Madigan


Remarks from OSPA Awards Committee Co-Chair Melissa Bestgen

Juliette Madigan began her career in in 1989, after graduating from John Carroll University. She worked briefly for PSI Solutions before finding her home in the Cleveland Metropolitan School District, where she worked from 1992 to her retirement in 2015. Juliette conducted evaluations, assisted with writing IEPs, supported teachers in intervention and progress monitoring, provided group and individual crisis counseling, and supervised practicum and intern students.

She then worked as co-coordinator for the CMSD Crisis/Rapid Response Desk, helping to coordinate crisis supports across the district and building the response into a comprehensive, multidisciplinary effort. Outside of her responsibilities within the district, Juliette has been a member of many professional organizations: Cleveland Association of School Psychologists, OSPA, NASP, ISPA, APA Division 16, the Council for Exceptional Children, and the National Association of Masters in Psychology. She has served as president of CASP and OSPA, delegate to NASP, and trustee and treasurer of NASP’s Children’s Fund. In her retirement, Juliette has continued to serve the profession as a CASP representative to OSPA and NASP PREPaRE trainer. For her dedication to the profession, the OSPA Executive Board is honored to present Juliette Madigan with the 2017 R.A.Horn Honorary Life Membership Award.

Remarks from Juliette Madigan

I am pleased, honored and humbled to accept the Ray Horn Lifetime Achievement Award and to join past recipients who I have long admired and respected. A very special thanks to Laura Gabel for nominating me and to Melissa Bestgen and the Awards Committee for this honor, to Karen Stine and Ann Brennan. Thanks too to Bill Stencil who came down from Cleveland Schools today to join us and to my husband Tom who came down to have lunch with us as well. A special shout out to my CASP buddies for being here today.

 Most especially, thanks to OSPA who has given me years of opportunities to be part of the leadership of this organization. Thank you also to you my fellow OSPA members for being here today. Look around at all who are in this room. You are the active members of this organization. You are the ones who will help guide this profession into the future. I invite you to take a step this afternoon to become more active in OSPA. After the wine and cheese the OSPA committees will be meeting in this room. Take the time to join one of the committees and see where your talents fit.

Remember OSPA is the only organization in the state that specifically watches over our needs and speaks to our specific role in helping children succeed psychologically, behaviorally, socially as well as educationally.

Congratulations to Sharon Rieke on receiving the Bartlett Distinguished Service Award and to Keith Mesmer on receiving the Best Practice Award. I feel privileged to be a member of this organization. Thank you.