Find Us!

2020 Ohio School Psychologist of the Year - Amy Such

In 1991, the OSPA Executive Board established the School Psychologist of the Year Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize one school psychologist each year who provides outstanding service delivery within the practitioner realm. It is required that at least seventy-five percent of a candidate's time be spent providing school psychological services to students, teachers, and parents, typically in a school setting. Nominees must be OSPA members and are nominated by a regional association. The recipient of the Ohio School Psychologist of the Year Award then becomes Ohio's nominee for the National School Psychologist of the Year Award, presented by NASP at its Annual Convention.

The Ohio School Psychologists Association Executive Board is honored to present the Fall 2020 School Psychologist of the Year, Amy Such.

Amy graduated with her Psychology Specialist Degree from Cleveland State University. After a short time at the Fairfield County ESC, Amy found her home at Cleveland Metropolitan School District, where she has worked since 2000. Along with her usual caseload, Amy serves as a union delegate and on the TDES mentoring committee, supervises practicum and intern students, and works as a new psychologist mentor. Most recently, Amy has become a strong advocate for staff and student wellness at Joseph Gallagher School. She worked to create a fitness club for staff; brought yoga, mindfulness and coping skills supports into her building by collaborating with Zenworks, a Cleveland nonprofit; participates in LifeActs community walks for suicide prevention; and worked with the Greater Cleveland Food Bank to organize a mobile food truck so her students would have access to fresh, healthy foods. She is also a part time instructor at Cleveland State University, teaching the Home-School Collaboration and Support class, skills in which she is uniquely qualified.